Skip to content

California Auto Insurance Requirements

    < 1 minute read

    The state of California requires every vehicle to be insured with a minimum of bodily injury and property damage coverage. These minimums are set to protect the citizens of California from an injury or loss of property resulting from an automobile accident.

    The minimum bodily injury liability that a Californian driver may take out is $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.  The minimum for property damage liability is  $5,000. While it is recommended to purchase as much coverage as you can afford, you can drive with just having these minimums. The State wide minimum requirements are more commonly referred to as 15/30/5 coverage.

    The state of California operates under a tort system. By definition, tort is an injury to another person or to property which is compensable under law. A tort state is the opposite of a “No-fault” state. In a tort state one party must be designated to be at fault before one can receive compensation for damages, although fault can be shared. If you are travelling outside of California, make sure to check out the laws of the state you are travelling to as the laws differ from state to state.

    Contact your local AIS office to discuss the California insurance laws and to find the best rate on your auto insurance policy.

    This content is offered for educational purposes only and does not represent contractual agreements. The definitions, terms and coverages in a given policy may be different than those suggested here and such policy will be governed by the language contained therein. No warranty or appropriateness for a specific purpose is expressed or implied.